#1 wjames

wjames

Pyro Forum Regular

• General Public Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 397 posts

Posted 29 August 2008 - 08:36 PM

hi folks.....newbie here.
firstly, whats the finest powder obtainable from a mortar and pestle - in terms of pot.nitrate.

i currently use a mortar and pestle for grinding up my pot. nitrate. - it works well, although its a long winded effort........

i know people use ball mills for mixed bp compositions........

would using my mortar and pestle with black powder + isoprop be sensible.

its a large 7 inch diam(internal) marble version.

any advice welcome

#2 digger

digger

Pyro Forum Top Trump!

• UKPS Members
  • 1,961 posts

Posted 29 August 2008 - 08:46 PM

hi folks.....newbie here.
firstly, whats the finest powder obtainable from a mortar and pestle - in terms of pot.nitrate.

i currently use a mortar and pestle for grinding up my pot. nitrate. - it works well, although its a long winded effort........

i know people use ball mills for mixed bp compositions........

would using my mortar and pestle with black powder + isoprop be sensible.

its a large 7 inch diam(internal) marble version.

any advice welcome

You will end up with blisters on the palm of your hand as you know.

There is plenty of info on here if you do a search on making BP.

As to Isoprop alcohol it will make little difference.
Phew that was close.

#3 pyromaniac303

pyromaniac303

• UKPS Members
  • 632 posts

Posted 29 August 2008 - 08:52 PM

In theory you can get powder as fine as you want with a mortar and pestle, you just need a lot of patience, and an arm that never gets tired!